Autism – Haiku (inspired) poems

I like the 5-7-5 rhythm of a haiku so I wrote a selection of autism themed poems based on that rhythm.

What is autism?
Just another day living
With a unique mind

I am not abstract
I am a literal human
So that’s how I think

Spinning around fast
Creates a wonderful high
Why don’t you try it?

I don’t understand
When you look at me that way
Just say what you mean

To look in your eyes
Causes me a lot of pain
So don’t ask me too

The spikes on my arm
Come from your acid filled touch
Against my soft skin

Silence is not heard
When a room won’t stop buzzing
And your ears hear all

Talking is just noise
When words have little meaning
To those listening

Thanks for reading. Hope you liked it. Peace out!

Leave a Reply

